Humourous Autobiography Translation
Thread poster: sevie
sevie
sevie

Spanish to English
Oct 20, 2023

I am a post-graduate university student from the UK who is studying a Masters in Translation (Spanish to English).

I am doing an extended translation project on a humorous autobiography which involves the translation of a text from Spanish to English; part of this project involves me commenting on the challenges that I encountered and the translation solutions that I adopted.

I am exploring the 'tensions' between effectively translating the "funniness" o
... See more
I am a post-graduate university student from the UK who is studying a Masters in Translation (Spanish to English).

I am doing an extended translation project on a humorous autobiography which involves the translation of a text from Spanish to English; part of this project involves me commenting on the challenges that I encountered and the translation solutions that I adopted.

I am exploring the 'tensions' between effectively translating the "funniness" of the source-text into the target-text while remaining faithful to the referential nature of autobiography.

There is very limited previous research into translation of autobiography per se, and there does not appear to be any information available in relation to humorous autobiography. Certainly I cannot locate any practical information for translators in this field, hence the research project I have decided upon.

I envisage that there will likely be many "ethical" issues faced by translators in the translation of humorous autobiography, possibly even legal ones too. Unfortunately, I am ignorant of these issues and I am therefore trying to speak to someone in the publishing arena who might be able to help with some of the questions I have.

For example: