Study into translation of metaphors: looking for volunteers to evaluate translations
Thread poster: Sarah Daniel
Sarah Daniel
Sarah Daniel
United Kingdom
Sep 12, 2022

My name is Sarah Daniel and I am a PhD student at Université Grenoble Alpes and Swansea University. My research is into translation of conceptual metaphors between French and English. As part of this I am looking for volunteer native English speakers with a high level of French to rate translations I have collected.

The text is 400 words long and contains 25 expressions based on conceptual metaphors. I only need ratings for the target expressions, but I will provide the full texts
... See more
My name is Sarah Daniel and I am a PhD student at Université Grenoble Alpes and Swansea University. My research is into translation of conceptual metaphors between French and English. As part of this I am looking for volunteer native English speakers with a high level of French to rate translations I have collected.

The text is 400 words long and contains 25 expressions based on conceptual metaphors. I only need ratings for the target expressions, but I will provide the full texts so that raters can see the translations in context. I’ve included the target text and an example translation below; the conceptual metaphors are bolded.

I'll be holding an online training session on the rating system for the translations so that raters are on the same page. I'll be able to provide certificates of participation for this, as well as participation in the study, which can be used as evidence of CPD. If there is interest I'll also be happy to meet with raters to present the aims and findings of the study - I won't be able to explain these in detail before hand to avoid biasing the responses.

If you are interested, or have any questions, please contact me at [email protected]

Texte Source