What does it mean to be a freelance 'Quality Manager'?
Iniziatore argomento: Madeline Robinson
Madeline Robinson
Madeline Robinson
Regno Unito
Local time: 02:20
Da Italiano a Inglese
Jan 12, 2018

Hello Everybody,

I was hoping for a little moral support and general advice on this subject. I have recently been offered this position by a company to check documents on the topic of 'life sciences'. I am a History of Art graduate and so I am slightly concerned that this will be a great challenge - has anybody done work like this in the past?

The company has told me that: "as a Quality Manager, you would have to: 1) Ensure translated documents mirror the original sou
... See more
Hello Everybody,

I was hoping for a little moral support and general advice on this subject. I have recently been offered this position by a company to check documents on the topic of 'life sciences'. I am a History of Art graduate and so I am slightly concerned that this will be a great challenge - has anybody done work like this in the past?

The company has told me that: "as a Quality Manager, you would have to: 1) Ensure translated documents mirror the original source document. 2) Ensure that directions were followed and if not, find out why and fix it. 3) Personally ensure the quality of the documents before they are delivered to the client. It sounds like quite dry work, but I would welcome any contradictions to this point of view! Is it trickier than straightforward translation?

The company is also asking for my 'best offer (in dollars) for Quality Management per hour'. This is where I really get stuck. I am new to translation and so am working at the (relatively low, I believe?) rate of £100 per 1000 English words (IT > EN) for translation. Should Quality Management cost less or more than translation? I want to get a fair price for this work, as I anticipate that researching Life Sciences will be tough. What would you suggest?