The word 'foresee' in regulations and agreements
Thread poster: Hlaskover
Hlaskover
Hlaskover
Local time: 13:31
English to Polish
Jan 30, 2013

Hello everybody, I need some quick (probably) help.

I'm an English-Polish translator and in Polish we have this word 'przewidywac', which means 'to foresee', but is also used in agreements and legal acts in the sense of 'to stipulate, provide' ('as provided in the agreement' etc.).

So it's a common mistake (I thought) that some beginners use 'foresee' in relevant cases, like 'the contract foresees that money shall be paid' or 'as foreseen by the Act'. I've always though
... See more
Hello everybody, I need some quick (probably) help.

I'm an English-Polish translator and in Polish we have this word 'przewidywac', which means 'to foresee', but is also used in agreements and legal acts in the sense of 'to stipulate, provide' ('as provided in the agreement' etc.).

So it's a common mistake (I thought) that some beginners use 'foresee' in relevant cases, like 'the contract foresees that money shall be paid' or 'as foreseen by the Act'. I've always thought it's a big mistake and a 'false friend', but recently I've noticed it in reputable 'official' translations, like 'Polish Criminal Code' etc...

So I got confused... I'm sure that the word 'to foresee' in English is restricted to the meaning 'to predict, expect'. There are some Google hits for 'the Act foresees', but they don't come from native-English sites.

Could some native speaker settle this for me? Can you say 'the penalty foreseen for the offence in this Code' or 'this Act foresees that (something shall be done)'?

Sorry if the question is stupid, I was positive this is bad translation, but now I'm seriously confused...

Thanks in advance.
Collapse

The Misha
The Misha
Local time: 07:31
Russian to English
+ ...
This is indeed a bad translation Jan 31, 2013